RSS

Dedications

02 Jun

Today we dedicated our daughter Rachel, or rather Steven and I dedicated ourselves to raising her to be all God designed.  As I was standing at the podium with Steven, oohing over Rachel, and reigning in Robbie, I was reminded of the seriousness of parenting.  I know in some circles the descriptions of parenting have become cliche’, but it really is the hardest and most rewarding experience I have had thus far in my life.  The challenge for me as a Christian mother is both easier and more difficult.  Why both?  I myself am redeemed, meaning I have the teaching and guidance of the Holy Spirit, yet I am charged to pass on the saving knowledge and power of Christ to my children who were born with the same sin nature and free-will as us all. 

If you had asked me at the time I became a mother would I want to be a stay-at-home mom, I would have laughed.  Even a year ago that question would have been met with a hesitant maybe.  Now that I have had a full year with my children, I cannot imagine leaving them.  It’s not that I love them more now than I did then, it’s just that I am able to see how God is working in my life, what my childen are learning, and because of that I feel more equipped to prepare them for their roles in His plan. 

 

I am so thankful for the opportunity I have been given to spend this time with them.  Today, as I stood their with two children and another on the way I was overwhelmed in so many ways…the most being how blessed I am.  I write this as a tribute to them as their mother as I re-dedicate myself to the task God has given me.  I am grateful and humbled to carry the title of mother, especially theirs.

Caroline

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 2, 2008 in At the Parsonage

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
