RSS

Rites of Passage

30 Jun

It’s been a while since I posted my thoughts and daily activities.  Life is busy, but good.  You would think that we could enjoy the “lazy days of summer”, but I’m still waiting for them to arrive.  Everyday something around me changes.  As I watch my children grow and experience life’s stages with our congregation at church, I am reminded of how fleeting life is.  We are just a vapor in time.  As you know what really counts is what we do with our numbered days, how we represented Christ, and how we shared His love with others.  Those things are eternal.  Each of us no matter what age, must go through certain “rites of passage”; moments of celebration for another milestone reached or a goal accomplished.  My question is do we utilize those celebrations as a means of exalting ourselves, or reflecting on who we’ve become in Christ.  Each rite of passage should cause us to find more of ourselves fading into the background and more of Him coming into focus.  In other words, a celebration of His provision and presence throughout the past growing process.  My prayer today is that I am a reflection of Christ every day of my life no matter my age or circumstance.  A pastor friend of ours told Steven that the confirmation of his ministry in our lives was 2 Timothy 2:2.  I think that’s the mark of anyone who no matter the rite of passage should strive to fulfill.  

Blessings, Caroline 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 30, 2008 in At the Parsonage

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
