RSS

A FEW 2014 RESOLUTIONS

02 Jan

Before the New Year’s Day comes to a close, and after reading several posts detailing some lofty resolutions, I thought it wise to share a few of my own. For me, making resolutions that I will keep happens only when I think about the next logical steps in my relationships. So I organized this list with that in mind.

With God: Resolved, to cease looking at my devotional as another hour for work related tasks. Further resolved to maintain a more consistent conversation with The Lord by spending more productive time journaling about my thoughts and life events and seeking to record how the Holy Spirit illumines His Word. (Psalm 119:105-112)

With Self: Resolved, to keep myself from frustration and exhaustion by more diligently and realistically planning my schedule. Further resolved, to delegate as many tasks as I can and still know I am pleasing the Lord. (Matt. 6:33-34; Acts 6:2; Eph. 5:15-16)

With Family: Resolved, to put off harshness and cultivate gentleness with my wife and children. In particular, I must seek to serve them more by trying to understand their point of view before speaking to them. (Eph. 5:25-33, 6:4; Col. 3:19, 3:21; 1 Peter 3:7)

With Church: Resolved, to trust that The Lord will revive His people in the measure that we will hear and obey His Spirit through His Word. Further resolved to consistently call His people through biblical preaching, teaching, and counsel to hear and obey Him. (Acts 6:7; 2 Timothy 3:16-17, 4:2)

With Others: Resolved, to pray more regularly and intentionally for the evangelization and discipleship of those around me. In particular, I want to continually pray for three individuals in my regular routine until I have the opportunity to call them to repentance and faith in Christ. Once I share, I will begin praying for a new person. (2 Timothy 4:5)

With World: Resolved, to become more informed about the news of the day that I may think well about how to speak biblically to the issues the world presents. In particular, I will read the headlines and noteworthy stories each day and blog once a week so I may be in the world, but not of it. (John 15:19)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 2, 2014 in At the Parsonage

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
